top of page
  • counselorpayne

I am RESPONSIBLE for Me


The end of February & beginning of March the focus is on Responsibility.  Our tool this month is a watch because it reminds me that "I do what I need to do when I need to do it."

In Kindergarten, we talk about how there are so many different ways to take responsibility. We look at different situations that involve different times and places and practice making some responsible decisions.

First grade listens to David Gets In Trouble.  When David doesn't stop & think his behaviors are not very responsible OR respectful. We'll turn it around and rewrite the book into David Has a Responsible Day!

In Second grade, we played the Responsibility Game Show. 3rd graders are helping Danny with some decision-making. What Should Danny Do? is an innovative, interactive book that empowers kids with the understanding that their choices will shape their days, and ultimately their lives into what they will be.

 In 4th we are reading But, It's Not My Fault and discussing the blame game we can get into when we don't own our decisions. And in 5th we'll watch several videos to get us talking about when its easy and when its hard to be responsible. Our discussion will wrap around the phrase "I am responsible for me."

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page